# **Grinnell Award Committee**

**Committee Members:** B. Coyner, G. Feldhamer, M. Matocq, B. Pasch, J. Rachlow (chair), P. D. Sudman, R. Terry, B. Timm, and P. Zollner.

## Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for the Joseph Grinnell Award and select a nominee to forward to the ASM Board of Directors for consideration. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

## **Information Items:**

- (1) In Spring 2019, the committee reviewed application materials, chose the nominee, and forwarded the nomination to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. With enthusiastic approval of the Board, the award recipient, Dr. Donald Kaufman, was announced at the closing event of the 2019 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Because the 2020 annual meeting was cancelled, Dr. Kauffman will receive the Grinnell plaque during a Plenary Session of the 2021 annual meeting in Anchorage, AK.
- (2) In Fall 2019, Dr. Matocq stepped down as chair, but remained on the committee (thanks for her leadership!). Drs. Pasch, Zollner, Terry and Rachlow (chair) joined the committee during the fall (welcome!).
- (3) In Spring 2020, the committee evaluated nomination material, chose the nominee, and forwarded the nomination to President Kelt and the ASM Board of Directors. Because the 2020 annual meeting was cancelled, the recipient will be announced as the ASM Board and Officers decide.

## **Action Items:**

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award plaque.

## Respectfully submitted,

Janet Rachlow, Chair Grinnell Award Committee jrachlow@uidaho.edu